What is a CASA Advocate?

ADVOCATE FOR CHILDREN IN MCHENRY COUNTY

A Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) is an everyday citizen, specially trained by CASA of McHenry County, to advocate in Juvenile Abuse Court for the best interests and safety of children involved as victims of abuse and neglect. CASA volunteers are appointed by the Juvenile Court Judge to children 0 - 21 years of age to be the eyes and ears of the Judge and the voice of the child. They gather information, identify resources and work in partnership with all parties to the case to ensure the child's needs are met. The ultimate goal of CASA is to help ensure every child has a safe, permanent home through reunification or adoption.

Learn More at an Info Session

Thursday, August 12, 5:30 - 6:30pm at the CASA of McHenry County office

Wednesday, September 8, 5:30 - 6:30pm at the CASA of McHenry County office

Tuesday, October 12, 5:30 - 6:30pm at the CASA of McHenry County office

Thursday, November 18, 5:30 - 6:30pm at the CASA of McHenry County office

These are drop-in sessions, but you are welcome to let Sharie know you are coming!

Next Training Session: Fall 2021

If you are interested in joining the next training class, please submit your application
by
Friday, September 17, 2021.

Once we review your application, we will contact you to schedule an initial interview!

Intro Session – Wednesday, September 29, 5:45 - 7:00pm

Session 1 – Wednesday, October 6, 5:45 – 8:30pm

Session 2 – Wednesday, October 13, 5:45 – 8:30pm

Session 3 – Wednesday, October 20, 5:45 – 8:30pm

Session 4 – Wednesday, October 27, 5:45 – 8:30pm

Session 5 – Wednesday, November 3, 5:45 – 8:30pm

Session 6 – Wednesday, November 10, 5:45 – 8:30pm

End of Training Interviews: week of November 15 - 19

For more information, contact
Sharie Dodge, Advocate Engagement Manager. Please provide your email and phone number.